Headphones and jazz CD p.e.k. sound
p.e.k.Sound (Digital Location Recording) England

"Capturing the best in British Traditional Jazz"

p.e.k.Sound, Malvern, Main Street, Congerstone, Nuneaton, Warks., CV13 6LZ | TELEPHONE: 01827 880091 | Click here to E-Mail

p.e.k.Sound jazz catalogue

< Previous Page | Page 7 | Next Page >



Here is the third CD for P.E.K. by Roger's excellent New Orleans style band. The band played a great session at the 2002 Bude Jazz Festival to a large audience on a bright sunny day. The band line-up is Steve Graham tpt, Neil Dunning cl and tenor sax, Tom Whittingham tb, Bill Scott bjo, Roger White bs, Roger Wells dms. The tunes include:- Lead Me Saviour, Silver Threads Among The Gold, Collegiate, Franklin St Blues, On Higher Ground, Panama, I Get The Blues When It Rains, There'll Come Another Day, Moose March, Climax Rag. (70 mins)


EXCELSIOR VINTAGE JAZZ BAND "Live at the Waterworks Jazz Club"

For their latest CD this fine New Orleans-style band led by Ron Rumbol chose a live recording at one of the Midlands' best jazz clubs. The line-up is unchanged from their two previous CDs except that John Wiseman has joined the band on trombone. The tunes are:- 'neath Hawaiian Skies, Savoy Blues, Tailgate Ramble, Careless Love, Spain, Three Little Words, 2.19 Blues, It Had To Be You, Over In Gloryland, Amapola, Put On Your Old Gray Bonnet, You Belong To Me, Lou-Easy-An-I-A. (67mins)


THE QUAYSIDE HOT STOMPERS "Loving . . . The Music of Clarence Williams"

After a five year interval since their first recording, this CD by Tom Culbert's excellent classic jazz band is very welcome. The line-up is Alan Duckles cornet, Barrie Marshall clarinet, Tom Culbert piano, Geraldine Duckles banjo and Colin Turner tuba. Delia Glaister sings on ten of the 22 tracks which include some delightful rarities, all with links to Clarence Williams - Loving, Mandy Make Up Your Mind, I've Got What It Takes, I'm Not Worrying, Walk That Broad, Breeze, Mississippi Blues, Oh Daddy Blues, There's A Blue Ridge Round My Heart Virginia, Texas Moaner, Just Wait 'til You See My Baby, Whip Me With Plenty Of Love, Gulf Coast Blues, Sweet Emmaline, Santa Claus Blues, Baby Won't You Please Come Home, Down Hearted Blues, Shim Sham Shimme Dance, Squeeze Me, Bottom Land, Everybody Loves My Baby. (78mins)



The Blackbottom Stompers have deservedly been well-known and highly regarded in the South of England for many years. At this live recording (Jan 2003) they are joined by Keith Nichols on piano (tb on one track). The other band members are - John Goddard tb, Dennis Field tpt, George Dawson sop sax & cl, Andy Ford bjo, Terry Lewis bs, Norman Davey dms. The tunes are:- Everybody Loves My Baby, Buddy's Habit, Mood Indigo, There'll Be Some Changes Made, Davenport Blues, All Of Me, Riverboat Shuffle, Mon Homme, Magnolia's Wedding Day, Kansas City Man Blues, Irish Black Bottom, Snake Rag. There are also five superb piano solos from Keith - If I Could Be With You, Mule Walk, Mariuch, I'm More Than Satisfied, A Handful Of Keys. (72mins)


Over the years Colin's band has had personnel changes; most recently they have been joined by Nigel Hunt on trumpet (and distinctive vocals!), and Ron Rumbol on clarinet - two fine musicians in the New Orleans idiom. The other band members are Colin Kingwell tb, Bill Scott bjo, Peter Brooks bs, Malc Murphy dms. The tunes on this CD, recorded live in October 2002, are Sing On, Don't Sweetheart Me, Oh Lady Be Good, Where The Lazy River Goes By, Bright Star Blues, Lily Of The Valley, Meet Me Tonight In Dreamland, It Is No Secret What God Can Do, Ting A Ling, We'll Meet Again, I Get The Blues When It Rains, Running Wild, Over The Waves. (76mins)


DAVE MOORWOOD'S RASCALS OF RHYTHM with ELIZABETH MAY "Love Potion No.9 and Other Heady Cocktails"

This must be the ultimate "feel-good" CD! Dave Moorwood's music always has a happy feel to it and Elizabeth May, a truly remarkable young singer, adds enormously to the joyous air of this recording. The tunes are - Breakin' In A Pair Of Shoes, Sweet Man, The Five O'Clock Whistle, Horizontal, Fine And Dandy, Ain't We Got Fun, Undecided, Embraceable You, Eeny Meeny Miny Mo, Love Potion No.9, I Had It But It's All Gone Now, In The Cool Cool Cool Of The Evening, Straighten Up And Fly Right, Just You Just Me, A Walking Thing, C' Est Si Bon. The band members are - Mike Wills saxes, Tony Isaacs clarinet & saxes, Perry Lock piano, Dave Moorwood guitar, Geoff Hull bass, Elizabeth May vocals. (70 mins)

< Previous Page | Page 7 | Next Page >